Assam Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: BJP leads in the state

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) National President Amit Shah with Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and others, during an election rally ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, in Morigaon.Photo)(

Assam Lok Sabha Result = BJP 9, INC = 3, AIUDF = 1, Independent = 1

Assam Winners List
ConstituencyCurrent MPAGP+BJP+BPF Alliances CandidatesINC Candidate NameAIUDF Candidate Name
TezpurRam Prasad Sharma (BJP)Sjt. Pallab Lochan Das (BJP) (winner)MGVK Bhanu
KaliaborGaurav Gogoi (Congress)Mani Madhab Mahatnta (AGP)Gaurav Gogoi (winner)
JorhatKamakhya Prasad Tasa (BJP)Tapan Gogoi (BJP) (winner)Sushanta Borgohain
DibrugarhRameswar Teli (BJP)Rameswar Teli (BJP) (winner)Paban Singh Ghatowar
LakhimpurVacantPradan Baruah (BJP) (winner)Anil Borgohain
KarimganjRadheshyam Biswas (AIUDF)Kripanath Mallah (BJP) (winner)Swarup DasRadheshyam Biswas (AIUDF )
SilcharSushmita Dev (Congress)Dr. Rajdeep Roy Bengali (BJP) (winner)Sushmita Dev
Autonomous DistrictBiren Sing Engti (Congress)Horen Sing Bey (BJP) (Winner)Biren Singh Engti
MangaldoiRamen Deka (BJP)Dilip Saikia (AGP) (winner)Bhubaneswar Kalita
NowgongRajen Gohain (BJP)Rupak Sharma (BJP)Pradyut Bordoloi (winner)
DhubriBadruddin Ajmal (AIUDF)Zabed Islam (AGP)Abu Taher BepariBadruddin Ajmal (AIUDF) (winner)
KokrajharNaba Kumar Saranyia (Independent)Pramila Rani Brahma (BPF)Sabda Ram RabhaNaba Kumar Sara Nia (Independent) (Winner)
BarpetaSirajuddin Ajmal (AIUDF)Kumar Deepak Das (AGP) Abdul Khaleq (Winner)Hafiz Rafiqul Islam (AIUDF)
GauhatiBijoya Chakravarty (BJP)Smt.Queen Ojha (BJP) (winner)Bobbeeta Sharma

The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in Assam with 9 seats out of 14 according to the Election Commission. The BJP has a vote share of 35.6% while the Indian National Congress which is leading in only one seat has 31.7% vote share

The exit poll results for Assam showed a win for the Bharatiya Janata Party. While Today’s Chanakya exit poll showed a possible 10 seats for BJP, the exit poll by Times Now VMR predicted a possible Congress win in the state.

Meanwhile, for the state’s All India United Democratic Front the exit polls predicted barely one seat.

The state of Assam might present mixed prospects for the major parties contesting the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The state has 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in total that went for polling during three phases on April 11, April 18 and April 23. During 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the results favored the BJP by giving the party 7 seats meaning 50 percent of the total number of seats in the state. During the said elections, the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) bagged 3 seats, Indian National Congress (INC) had a share of 3 constituencies and the Independent (IND) party won from 1 seat.

In the Karimganj seat, the BJP fielded Kripanath Mallah for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. He fought with Radheshyam Biswas of the All India United Democratic Front and Swarup Das of the Congress. The sitting MP from this constituency is Radheyshyam Biswas of the AIUDF. In the Autonomous District Lok Sabha seat, Congress leader Biren Singh Engti won during the 2014 general elections and he is the sitting MP now. He is once again contesting this seat locking horns with Harenshingh Bey of BJP. In 2014 elections, the results favored Biren Singh Engti by giving him 24,095 votes more than that of Joy Ram Engleng representing BJP.

Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.