Bengaluru lok sabha election result: BJP leading in all 3 seats, Prakash Raj calls defeat a "slap on my face"

BJP President Amit Shah with Bengaluru South Constituency candidate Tejaswi Surya greet supporters during a road show of BJP President Amit Shah in Bengaluru.Photo/Shailendra Bhojak)(
Trends show that MP PC Mohan is set for a comeback as he is leading in Bangalore central, D.V. Sadananda Gowda from BJP is leading in Bangalore North while Tejaswi Surya is leading in Bangalore South.

Meanwhile, independent candidate from Bangalore Central actor Prakash Raj saw his votes trailing way behind incumbent MP PC Mohan. Prakash Raj tweeted about the failure saying "a SOLID SLAP on my face More ABUSE..TROLL..and HUMILIATION come my way..I WILL STAND MY GROUND ..My RESOLVE to FIGHT for SECULAR INDIA will continue..A TOUGH JOURNEY AHEAD HAS JUST BEGUN ..THANK YOU EVERYONE WHO WERE WITH ME IN THIS JOURNEY. .... JAI HIND"

Bengaluru which voted on phase 2 of the Indian general elections is home to three seats out of the total 28 Lok Sabha seats – Bangalore North, Bangalore Central and Bangalore South.


In the exit polls, BJP candidate PC Mohan was predicted to win so as to hold on to his Bangalore Central seat while young leader Tejaswi Surya was predicted to win the Bangalore South seat.

In the state of Karnataka, the alliance of Congress and JDS which made big news during the assembly elections, was predicted to find it difficult to win big this time. According to News18-IPSOS exit polls, the BJP was headed to win 20-23 seats out of the 28 seats in Karnataka.

The city of startups saw active participation from entrepreneurs during the elections. Indian ride-hailing unicorn Ola Cabs, for whom Bengaluru is home base, had allotted 270 cabs to the Election Commission during voting.


Among entrepreneurs the key issues they wanted the political party in power to address were access to funding, angel tax issues and better policies for easier startup development.