Chandigarh winner candidate list in Lok Sabha Election 2019

ConstituencyCurrent MPBJP Candidate NameCongress Candidate NameAAP candidate Names
ChandigarhKirron Kher (BJP)Kirron Kher (Winner)Pawan Kumar BansalHarmohan Dhawan

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Bollywood candidate, Kirron Kher, has won a second-term as MP in the union territory of Chandigarh. In close race against Congress' Pawan Kumar Bansal, Kher came out on top with 50.64% of the vote share while Bansal lagged behind with only 40.35%.

The Union territory of Chandigarh has only one Lok Sabha constituency. The parliamentary seat is now being held by Kirron Kher, the BJP candidate who won the 2014 general elections from here. In these elections, Kirron Kher defeated Pawan Kumar Bansal of Congress with about a difference of 70,000 votes. The third place was claimed by AAP’s Gul Panag. The union territory went for polling during the last phase of elections in 2019 on April 19 and now awaits the results eagerly. Chandigarh presents a tough contesting scenario for the major political parties. The triangular contest in Chandigarh now sees the BJP and Congress candidates re-nominated following the 2014 elections.


Hence the main contenders in the parliamentary elections 2019 are Kirron Kher (BJP), Pawan Kumar Bansal (Congress) and Harmohan Dhawan (AAP). The scene is a bit different as AAP has replaced Gul Panag with Harmohan Dhawan. Notably, he was a senior BJP leader who left the party and joined the AAP in November 2018. There is a strong possibility that Dhawan could cut a sizeable percentage of the Hindu votes as he had earlier supported Kirron Kher during the earlier Lok Sabha elections in the union territory of Chandigarh.