Delhi exit poll 2019 for Lok Sabha Elections

Delhi Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal, pre-poll rallyIANS

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seems to be ready to come back into power in Delhi according to Lok Sabha Election 2019 exit polls.

Its uncertain whether the BJP will bring home all seven seats, or just six, but the winds seem to be working in their favor according to predictions.


Delhi Exit Poll
Party Names2014 ResultTodays's ChanakyaIndia Today AxisTimes Now VMR
BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)7766
INC (Indian National Congress)0011
AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)0000

Business Insider compiled surveys from five reputed sources — Republic-C Voter, News19-IPSOS , Today's Chanakya, India Today-Axis, and TimesNow - VMR — amongst many others and the final number is an average of these five polls.

Delhi, also officially called as the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) is at once a city and a union territory of India that houses New Delhi, the capital of the democratic government in the country. Bordered by Uttar Pradesh on one side and Haryana on the three other sides, the city covers a total area of 1,484 square kilometers. The number of eligible voters in Delhi is 1,37,04,356, the figure which comprises of 75,63,951 males, 61,39,595 females, and 810 third gender electors.

During 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won from all the 7 constituencies in Delhi. In 2009 parliamentary elections, it was Congress that won from all these 7 seats. In 2004 general elections for the Parliament, Congress won from 6 seats giving just one seat to the BJP.

The union territory of Delhi has 7 Lok Sabha seats and hence sends 7 MPs for the parliament. While 1 constituency is earmarked for the Scheduled caste candidates, there are no seats reserved for the scheduled tribes in Delhi. Delhi also sends 3 Rajya Sabha members from here. Delhi went for polling during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on May 12, 2019 when the country voted during the sixth phase of elections.