Pune Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Girish Balachandra Bapat leads at 10:50 am

Pune Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Girish Balachandra Bapat leads at 10:50 am
BJP candidate from Begusarai parliamentary seat Giriraj Singh greets BJP President Amit Shah, in Patna, Sunday May 05, 2019.Photo)(
Predictions by majority of exit poll agencies with regard to election results for the Lok Sabha polls 2019 say BJP will win from the Pune constituency. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Anil Shirole of BJP won from this constituency securing 569,825 votes while his opponent Vishwajeet Patangaro Kadam had secured 254,056 votes. During 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Suresh Kalmadi of INC won Anil Shirole from this constituency.

The key candidates fighting from Pune seat for the 2019 general elections for the Lok sabha are Girish Balachandra Bapat of BJP, Mohan Joshi of INC, Anil Jadhav of VBA and Uttam Shinde of SP. During the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, as many as 29 candidates are trying their luck from Pune and are eagerly waiting for the results. There are 3 woman candidates contesting from Pune seat during this time.

For quite some time in history, Pune had been a stronghold for the Congress party in the Western Maharashtra. The major political rivals in the country namely the Congress and BJP have strategically changed their candidates for the Pune seat during 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This scenario has made the election scene quite interesting in the constituency. The sitting MP Shirole is now replaced with state minister and BJP veteran Girish Bapat. The Congress party has also fielded a new candidate from Pune namely Mohan Joshi Bapet, who is a 5 times MLA from Kasba Peth. Despite the change in the candidates, the BJP is quite confident of winning this seat this time.


One of the most prominent Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra state, Pune has a total number of 1,835,836 registered electors. Among them, 949,567 are male voters and 886,269 are female electors. The voter turnout in Pune during 2019 general elections was 49.84%. In 2014, the voter turnout was much better at 54.10%.