Lok Sabha Election 2019: Total seats in Odisha


In the State of Odisha, there are 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in total. As per the Election Commission’s announcement on March 10, 2019, Lok Sabha election polling will be conducted in Odisha in 4 phases. The dates of polling in the state will be on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The various parties are running a vigorous campaign in the state looking forward to grab as many seats as possible for the parliament. The anticipations will clear on May 23 when the votes will be counted and results will be announced.

Names of Constituencies in Odisha

The names of the 21 different Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha are Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, Koraput, Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri, Bhubaneswar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, and Jagatsinghpur.


The present status of constituencies in Odisha

Odisha is always a very tough ground to contest for both the national parties BJP and Congress. After a vigorous election campaign in the state during 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured only 1 seat in the state. The Biju Janata Dal was elected from 20 constituencies.

In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP could not get even a single seat in the state while the Biju Janata Dal had won from 14 places.