Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab in Election 2019


Punjab state has 13 parliamentary constituencies in total for the different political parties in the country to share among themselves. The scenario in the state is not favorable to any single party to come out with majority number of seats. The Election Commission has declared that Punjab will go for polling in a single phase for all its constituencies with the date of polling scheduled on May 29, 2019. The question how many seats each contesting party will get in the state for the Lok Sabha will be solved on May 23 when the results will be announced after a country-wide counting of votes.

Names of the Constituencies in Punjab

The names of the various Lok Sabha Constituencies in Punjab are Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, and Patiala.

The present status of constituencies in Punjab

Following the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, presently the BJP has 2 seats and the Congress has 3 seats for the parliament. 4 seats in the state are held by Aam Aadami party while the Shiromani Akali Dal has 4 seats.

In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress party had won from 8 constituencies with the BJP having one seat and the Shiromani Akali Dal having 4 seats.
Subscribe to whatsappSubscribe to whatsapp
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.