Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu in Election 2019


Tamil Nadu elects its MPs from its 39 Lok Sabha Constituencies. For so long, Tamil Nadu has been the castle of the DMK and AIADMK parties that have their strong roots in the state. For quite some time in the past, only these two parties have been getting as many seats as possible alternatively leaving only a few constituencies for the other parties. This time, the BJP and AIADMK have formed a strong alliance in the state and are facing the elections together. The AIADMK will contest in 34 places this time leaving only 5 constituencies to the BJP.

Names of Constituencies in Tamil Nadu

The list of 39 parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu includes Tiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, and Kanniyakumari.


The present status of constituencies in Tamil Nadu

The AIADMK secured a thumping victory in the state during 2014 parliamentary elections. As on date, it has 37 seats in the parliament leaving BJP and Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) with just 1 seat each. The DMK does not have any Lok Sabha seats from the state now.