Lok Sabha Election 2019: Total seats in West Bengal


The state of West Bengal has 42 parliamentary constituencies in total. Hence it has 42 Lok Sabha seats to distribute among the contesting parties for the Lok Sabha 2019. As per the announcement by the Election Commission of India, West Bengal will see polling during all the 7 phases of elections in the country. The dates of polling will be April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Names of Constituencies in West Bengal

The names of the different constituencies in West Bengal are Coochbehar, Alipurduars, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat, Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad, Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum, Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag, Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur, Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, and Kolkata Uttar

The present status of constituencies in West Bengal

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP and Congress could do little in the state to make their candidates win from many constituencies. Among the 42 seats in the state, the BJP has at present only 2 seats with the Congress having 4 seats. The Marxist Communist Party has won from 2 places and the remaining 34 seats are with the All India Trinamool Congress.
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.