How to log out of Facebook Messenger on your iPad, which you can only do through the main Facebook app

ipad business man

Shutterstock

You'll have to log out of Messenger on your iPad using the main Facebook app.

The Facebook app on your iPad gives you access to most of the features you'd enjoy when using the social media platform on a computer: viewing friends' posts and pictures, adding your own photos and videos, updating your status, and more.

However, one thing the Facebook app does not allow is ready use of Facebook Messenger.

To access Facebook Messenger on your iPad, you need to get the separate Facebook Messenger app.

But you can't simply log out of Messenger using the Messenger app - for that, you need to go back into the main Facebook app and follow these steps.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPad (From $329.99 at Best Buy)

How to log out of Messenger on your iPad

1. From the home page of the Facebook app on your iPad, tap the three parallel lines at the bottom right corner of the page.

IMG_0473

Steven John/Business Insider

Select the "Menu" option in the bottom right.

2. Scroll down and then tap the "Settings & Privacy" tab.

IMG_0474

Steven John/Business Insider

Select Settings & Privacy.

3. Tap "Settings" from the new dropdown menu.

4. Tap "Security and Login" under the "Security" section on the next page.

5. Beside "Where you're logged in," tap the words "See More."

IMG_0476

Steven John/Business Insider

See the devices that you're logged into here.

6. Identify the iPad on which the Messenger app is active (look for the word "Messenger") and tap the three vertical dots.

7. Tap the "Log Out" button that appears.

Now head back to the Messenger app, and you should be prompted to log in, proving that you successfully logged out.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Insider receives a commission when you buy through our links.

{{}}
Add Comment()
Comments ()
X
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.