Here’s how to share location on WhatsApp


WhatsApp has become one of the world’s number one messaging apps.

Among its features that many users do not know is sharing location. This feature lets you share a map view of your present location with your contacts. This is very easy like sending media on WhatsApp.

You can share your location with an individual user or a group. It is also possible for you to control how long you will share the live or current location. Anytime, you can choose to stop sharing your live location. Once the live location expires or you stop sharing it, it will no longer be accessed by the concerned contact or group.

However, the recipients will continue to see the initial location from which you shared the location. This will be seen on their WhatsApp interface as a thumbnail image which will remain static. The participants in the group can tap on this thumbnail to find your last updated location.

The location sharing feature is end to end encrypted. This means excepting the people with whom you shared to live location, others can never see it. WhatsApp has incorporated this feature into its location sharing facility in order to enhance its security measures to benefit the users. This measure also follows WhatsApp’s privacy practices.

How to share your live location

To share your live location, first enable location permissions for WhatsApp by going to the phone settings. Do this in the following way.

Go to Settings > Apps & notifications > Advanced > App permissions > Location > turn on WhatsApp.

You can also do this in another way:

If you have opened WhatsApp recently, then just go to Phone Settings > Apps & notifications > WhatsApp > Permissions > turn on Location.

Share your live location in this way:

Open a chat or group.

Tap on Attach > Location > Share live location.

Now select the time length for which you want the live location to be shared with the recipient. Once the selected amount of time is over, the location sharing will stop being shared with the recipient.

You also have an option to add a comment.

Tap on Send to share the location.

How to stop sharing your live location

When you wish to stop sharing the live location with a specific contact or a group, follow these steps.

Open the chat or group.

Tap on Stop sharing > STOP.

How to stop the live location sharing across all chats and groups in one go

Tap on Menu > Settings > Account > Privacy > Live location.

Tap on Stop sharing > STOP.

Additional tips:

It is also possible to disable the location permission for WhatsApp anytime you want by going to the phone settings. Do this in this way.

Settings > Apps & notifications > Advanced > App permissions > Location > turn off WhatsApp.

You can also do this in another way:

If you have opened WhatsApp recently, then just go to Phone Settings > Apps & notifications > WhatsApp > Permissions > turn off Location.



{{}}
Add Comment()
Comments ()
X
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.