Bengaluru has 32 containment zones— here’s a list of all of them

  • The BBMP sealed off the areas completely restricting all movement of residents in 32 areas.
  • The Bengaluru urban currently has 86 active cases, whereas the consolidated state number stands at 390.
  • Even after a spike in the number of cases, Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa on Saturday announced relaxation in lockdown from April 21.
Bengaluru, which accounts for most of the infections in Karnataka, has identified 32 containment zones in the city as of April 20.

The BBMP has sealed off the areas completely restricting all movement of residents in those areas. Along with that, an extensive health check-up campaign has been taken up.

The Bengaluru urban currently has 86 active cases, whereas the state has 390 cases. Mysuru has 73 active cases and Belagavi has 41.


In spite of this move, Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa on Saturday, announced relaxation in lockdown from April 21. He however banned motorbike rides and IT-BT employees from travelling to offices across the state, especially in Bengaluru.

"The decision to allow 2-wheeler rides in non-Covid-19 zones and permitting 33% of IT-BT employees to go to the office from April 1 is withdrawn on public demand," said Yediyurappa in a press note.

What are the containment zones?

The Ministry of Health defines COVID-19 containment zones as an area where several positive cases of Coronavirus are found.

“The cluster containment strategy would be to contain the disease within a defined geographic area by detecting cases in the nascent stage, breaking the chain of transmission and preventing its spread to new areas. This would include geographic quarantine, social distancing measures, enhanced active surveillance, testing all suspected cases, isolation of cases, quarantine of contacts and risk communication to create awareness among the public on preventive public health measures,” said the Ministry of Health.

Here’s the list of all the containment zones across the city:

Bommanahalli Zone

191 Singasandra, 192 Begur

Mahadevapura Zone

84 Hagadur, 82 Garudachar Palya, 149 Varthur, 54 Hudi, 25 Horamavu, 26 Rammurthy Nagar

East Zone

93 Vasanth Nagar, 20 Ganga Nagar, 49 Lingarajapura, 88 Jeevanbhima Nagar, 18 Radhakrishna Temple, 57 CV Raman Nagar, 62 Ramaswami Palya, 59 Maruthi Sevanagar, 110 SampangiRam Nagar.

South Zone

162 Girinagar, 147 Adugodi, 152 Suddagunte Palya, 179 Shakambari Nagar, 177 JP Nagar, 171 Gurappanapalya, 134 Bapuji Nagar, 124 Hosahalli, 118 Sudham Nagar, 172 Madiwala, 132 Attiguppe, 166 Karisandra

West Zone

35 Aramane Nagara, 128 Nagarabhavi, 67 Nagapura, 107 Shivanagara, 141 Azad Nagar, 136 Jagjivanramnagar, 80 Subhasnagar

Yelahanka Zone

6 Thanisandra, 7 Byatarayanapura

India, which has 17,265 cases in all, is trying hard to stop the epidemic from spreading from Stage 2 to Stage 3, which is when community spread will be rampant. As of now, the government is hoping to arrest the disease within these hotspots and ensure unabated spreading does not occur.


SEE ALSO: List of coronavirus hotspot in Karnataka
Coronavirus cases in India state wise