India’s Tejas fighter aircraft may soon make its international debut – check out the features

Aug 8, 2022

By: Sourabh Jain

LCA Tejas

The LCA Tejas is an indigenously developed multi-role single-engine fighter.

Credit: BCCL

Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL)

The Tejas has been developed by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.

Credit: BCCL

Operational clearance

The LCA Tejas received initial operational clearance in 2011 and final clearance in 2019.

Credit: BCCL

First Tejas squadron

The first Tejas squadron with the Indian Air Force is the No. 45 squadron, Flying Daggers, which became operational in 2016.

Credit: BCCL

123 aircraft ordered by the Indian Air Force so far

Indian Air Force has so far ordered 40 Mark 1, 73 Mark 1A and 10 trainers. It is expected to procure a total of 324 aircraft.

Credit: BCCL

Tejas top speed

The Tejas has a top speed of 1.8 mach (2,385 km per hour).

Credit: BCCL

Tejas altitude

The LCA Tejas can reach an altitude of 56,758 feet.

Credit: BCCL

Production models

The Tejas currently has three production models – a trainer, Mark 1 and Mark 1A.

Credit: BCCL

Tejas Mark 2

The Tejas Mark 2, with a more powerful engine, increased payload capacity and more is expected to be rolled out in 2023.

Credit: BCCL

International orders

The Indian government recently revealed that Malaysia has expressed interest to procure 18 twin-seater Tejas fighters.

Credit: BCCL

Other countries that have expressed interest

The government also revealed that Egypt, USA, Australia and Indonesia have also expressed interest in the Tejas.

Credit: BCCL

The 100-bagger stocks that survived the test of time and market cycles over 20 years