G20 summit in India – Agenda, who’s coming, Delhi’s preparation and more

Aug 23, 2023

By: Sourabh Jain


The G20 or the Group of 20 includes 19 countries and the European Union. It addresses major global issues such as the economy, financial stability, climate change and more.

Credit: BCCL

Indian presidency

India took over the G20 presidency from Indonesia in December 2022 and is hosting one of the biggest gatherings of world leaders in India in September.

Credit: BCCL

G20 summit in India

The G20 summit will be held from September 9 to 10 in New Delhi. India’s agenda includes climate, health, global public goods and more, which were discussed at 182 meetings held across 58 cities in the country.

Credit: ANI

Delhi Government announces three-day holiday

The Delhi Government has announced a three-day public holiday from September 8 to 10 for all private and government offices, schools, commercial establishments and the closure of a few metro stations.

Credit: IANS

India bound: Biden, Macron, Sunak, Jinping and more

29 world leaders, including US president Joe Biden, China’s Xi Jinping, UK’s Rishi Sunak and France’s Emmanuel will visit India for the G20 summit in New Delhi.

Credit: PTI

Multiple hotels booked to accommodate guests

To accommodate the world leaders and their entourage, several luxury hotels such as the ITC Maurya, Taj Palace and The Oberoi have been booked.

Credit: BCCL

400 rooms booked at the ITC Maurya for Biden

US President Joe Biden and his entourage will stay at the ITC Maurya and around 400 rooms have been booked at the hotel to accommodate them.

Credit: PTI

Xi Jinping to stay at Taj Hotel

China’s Xi Jinping and his entourage will stay at the Taj Hotel in New Delhi for the summit.

Credit: BCCL

Security preparations in full swing

The Delhi Police has been training its officers for the past few months to handle the G20 summit. Additionally, units from CISF, CRPF, ITBP, BSF and the SSB have been roped in to protect the world leaders.

Credit: ANI

G20 members

The G20 includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US and the European Union.

Credit: ANI

US Stock market falls for 6th day in a row amid weakness in mega-cap tech