Key constituencies to watch out for this Lok Sabha 2024 elections

Jun 4, 2024

By: Ayush Mehrotra


After two consecutive victories, Narendra Modi is contesting from Varanasi for the third term, facing the INDIA bloc candidate Ajay Rai. Comedian Shyam Rangeela tried to file a nomination from Varanasi, but his nomination was eventually rejected by the Election Commission.

Credit: BCCL

Wayanad & Raebareli

Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is a sitting MP from Wayanad and will be facing BJP state president K. Surendran and CPI leader Annie Raja. The second seat from which Rahul Gandhi is contesting is Raebareli, a stronghold for the INC expecting gains for the INDIA bloc in Uttar Pradesh.

Credit: BCCL


After Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut was announced as the BJP candidate, Mandi became a key focus in the election. A close contest is expected because Mandi has been a stronghold for Congress. The late Virbhadra Singh represented the area three times, and Pratibha Singh has also won three times, including two by-elections.

Credit: BCCL


AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi is been MP from Hyderabad for 4 terms and Hyderabad has been a safe seat for AIMIM for decades now but a fiery contest is expected as he will be facing BJP’s firebrand leader Madhavi Latha.

Credit: BCCL

Khandoor Sahib

With jailed leader Amritpal Singh of Waris Punjab De entering as an independent candidate, the Khandoor Sahib constituency is expected to have an interesting contest.

Credit: BCCL


Known as the Gandhi family's legacy seat, Smriti Irani of the BJP broke the tradition in 2019 by defeating then-Congress president Rahul Gandhi. In this election, Smriti Irani will face Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma. It will be interesting to see if she can win again.

Credit: BCCL

North-East Delhi

BJP's incumbent MP Manoj Tiwari will compete against Congress' Kanhaiya Kumar for the North-East Delhi seat. Both leaders are from Bihar and eyeing to get votes from a Significant population from UP and Bihar, and Kumar is banking on ten years of anti-incumbency against Tiwari.

Credit: BCCL


Chhindwara is a bastion of former MP CM Kamal Nath, and currently, his son Nakul Nath represents the constituency in the lower house. He hopes to get re-elected and is facing Vivek Sahu, who unsuccessfully contested the recently concluded assembly elections against Kamal Nath.

Credit: iStock


Sitting MP and former Union minister Shashi Tharoor is running for re-election in Thiruvananthapuram for the fourth time. He's facing BJP leader and Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar, who's new to Lok Sabha elections and hopes to secure the BJP's first seat in Kerala.

Credit: BCCL


Former cricketer Yusuf Pathan is TMC's candidate from the Baharampur constituency which is currently held by Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. Chowdhury, also West Bengal Congress unit president, has represented Baharampur five times and is aiming for a sixth term.

Credit: BCCL

Top 10 wealthiest Indians as per the Forbes Richest World’s Billionaires List 2024