Kerala brings cheer to Congress as its coalition wins 15 seats

United Democratic Front (UDF) workers participate in a rally after Congress president Rahul Gandhi declared that he will contest from Wayanad Lok Sabha seat, in Wayanad.Photo)(
Congress party led UDF (United Democratic Front) has won 15 seats in the state, wresting control away from the traditionally powerful left parties.

Kerala Won
Congress + 15
Others 4

Kerala Winner MP List
ConstituencyBJP+BDJS+TLKC CandidatesCongress + IUML CandidatesCPI (M) Candidates
KasaragodRaveesh Thantri Kuntar (BJP)Rajamohan Unnithan (INC) (Winner)K P Satheesh Chandran (CPI(M))
KannurC K Padmanabhan (BJP)K Sudhakaran (INC) (Winner)P K Sreemathi (CPI(M))
VadakaraV K Sajeevan (BJP)K Muraleedharan (INC) (Winner)P Jayarajan (CPI(M))
WayanadThushar Vellappally (BDJS)Rahul Gandhi (INC) (Winner)PP Suner (CPI(M))
KozhikodeAdv K P Prakash Babu (BJP)M K Raghavan (INC) (Winner)Pradeep Kumar (INC)
MalappuramUnnikrishnan Master (BJP)P. K. Kunhalikutty (IUML) (Winner)VP Sanu (CPI(M))
PonnaniProf. V T Rema (BJP)E. T. Muhammed Basheer (IUML) (Winner)P V Anwar (CPI(M))
PalakkadC Krishnakumar (BJP)V K Sreekantan (INC) (Winner)M.B. Rajesh (CPI(M))
AlathurT.V. Babu (BDJS)Remya Haridas (INC) (winner)P.K. Biju (CPI(M))
ThrissurSuresh Gopi (BJP)T N Prathapan (INC) (Winner)Rajaji Mathew Thomas (CPI(M))
ChalakudyA N Radhakrishnan (BJP)Benny Bahanan (INC) (Winner)Innocent (CPI(M))
ErnakulamAlphons Kannanthanam (BJP)Hibi Eden (INC) (Winner)P. Rajeev (CPI(M))
IdukkiBiju Krishnan(BDJS)Dean Kuriakose (INC) (Winner)Joice George (CPI(M))
KottayamPC Thomas (BJP)Thomas Chazhikkadan (INC) (Winner)V.N. Vasavan (CPI(M))
AlappuzhaDr K S Radhakrishnan (BJP)Shanimol Usman (INC)A.M. Arif (CPI(M)) (winner)
MavelikkaraThazhava Sahadevan(BDJS)Kodikunnil Suresh (INC) (winner)Chittayam Gopakumar (CPI(M))
PathanamthittaK. Surendran (BJP)Anto Antony (INC) (Winner)Veena George (CPI(M))
KollamK V Sabu (BJP)NK Premachandran (RSP) (winner)K.N. Balagopal (CPI(M))
AttingalSmt. Shobha Surendran (BJP)Adoor Prakash (INC) (Winner)A. Sampath (CPI(M))
ThiruvananthapuramKummanam Rajasekharan (BJP)Shashi Tharoor (INC) (Winner)C. Divakaran (CPI(M))

Most of the Kerala exit polls predicted that Congress party’s combine with UDF (United Democratic Front), will bag over 15 seats. Almost all polls said that the Left Democratic Front or LDF will win less than ten seats. Some even believed that they will bag less five seats. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was not expected to win more than one seat.

Kerala elections saw the polling for all the 20 constituencies and the electors are waiting for the results with bewilderment. The key candidates contesting in the state are Rahul Gandhi, the Congress President, Alphons Kannamthanam, Union Minister and Shashi Tharoor, two-time sitting MP.

The top highlights of 2019 Lok Sabha elections see 9 MLAs, two ex-secretaries for district of the major parties and 13 sitting MPs lined up as contesting candidates in the state of Kerala.

Across the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies, we see a total number of 227 candidates contesting which includes 23 women who are all eagerly waiting for the election results.

The maximum number of candidates are contesting in Wayanad, where Rahul Gandhi is contesting in addition to his most favorite constituency Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. The lowest number of candidates are seen in the Alathur district of Palakkad district of the state.

The state of Kerala has a total number of 2.61 crore voters. There are 2.88 lakh first time voters in the state falling within the age group of 18-19.

At present, the Wayanad constituency is held by INC candidate M I Shanavas. At present, the key candidates in this constituency are Rahul Gandhi of the INC and P P Suneer of the CPI. The BJP is fielding Shri Thushar Vellappally, president of Bharat Dharma Jana Sena as the NDA candidate from the Wayanad seat.

Subscribe to whatsappSubscribe to whatsapp
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.