Lok Sabha Election 2019 Second Phase Notification


On Tuesday, March 19, 2019, the Election Commission of India issued the Lok Sabha Election 2019 second phase notification. As per the announcement made by the Election Commission of India on March 10, 2019, The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be conducted in 7 phases. The second phase notification pertains to the polling across the country scheduled on April 18, 2019.

Among the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies of the country, 91 will go for polling on April 11, 2019 during the first phase. During the second phase of polling on April 18, 2019, a total number of 97 constituencies scattered across 13 states and union territories will go for polling.

After the polling across all the 7 phases ending on May 19, 2019, the votes will be counted on May 23 and the results will be declared by the evening on the same day. Since the tenure of the government in the center will end on June 3, 2019, the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will decide who will rule the largest democracy for the next five years.

Phase-1 notification highlights

As per the formal gazette notification on phase-2 of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections issued on March 19, 2019, the second phase of polling will happen on April 18, 2019 in 97 constituencies.

Last date to file the nomination to contest in these constituencies will be March 26, 2019.

Nomination papers will be scrutinized on March 27, 2019.

Last date to withdraw the nomination is March 29, 2019

Date of polling during the second phase is April 18, 2019

Date of counting and announcement of results is scheduled on May 23, 2019

By March 29, the electors across the country will get to know the total number of candidates contesting in all of these 97 constituencies.

97 Constituencies that will go for polling during Phase-2

During phase-2 polling on April 18, 2019, all the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu will go to polls. There will also be bye-elections in 18 Assembly constituencies on this day clubbed with the Lok Sabha polls.

Puducherry, a union territory with a single constituency will also poll on this day.

The other states and constituencies that will go for polling during the second phase include 14 constituencies in Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra, 8 constituencies in UP, 5 in Assam, 5 in Bihar, 5 in Odisha, 3 in Chhattisgarh, 3 in West Bengal, 2 in Jammu and Kashmir, 1 in Manipur, and 1 in Tripura.

Notably, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal are the three states that will see polling during all the 7 phases of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

During the second phase on polling on April 18, 2019, 8 constituencies of UP including Agra, Aligarh and Mathura will go for polling. Alongside, three constituencies in West Bengal that will include Darjeeling and 5 constituencies in Bihar will vote on this day.

In Uttar Pradesh, there are totally 80 Lok Sabha seats while Bihar and West Bengal have 40 and 42 seats respectively.
Subscribe to whatsappSubscribe to whatsapp
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.