Lok Sabha Election 2019: Total seats in Meghalaya

Meghalaya, literally translated as the abode of clouds, is a beautiful state located in the North Eastern India. The state of Meghalaya has two Lok Sabha constituencies in total. Hence two Parliamentary candidates will be elected from the state in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The Election Commission has declared that the parliamentary elections will happen in Meghalaya in a single phase on April 11. This will be during the first phase of elections in the country. The counting of the votes will happen on May 23 and the results will be announced on the same day before evening.

Names of Lok Sabha constituencies in Meghalaya
The names of the two Lok Sabha constituencies in Maghalaya are Shillong and Tura.

The present status of constituencies in Meghalaya
Following the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress holds 1 seat in the state. The other seat is held by the National People’s Party. In the 2009 elections for the parliament, the Congress could bag 1 seat from here. Following the vigorous campaign of the BJP here, it appears the party has bright prospects of winning both the seats from here. Anyway, we will have to wait till May 23 to see the actual outcome of the polls.
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.