Lok Sabha Election 2019: Polling dates for Meghalaya

Dates for India’s 17th Lok Sabha elections were announced on March 10. The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases starting, April 11, according to the Election Commission of India. The votes will be counted on May 23 and will decide the fate of major political parties in India.

Voting in Meghalaya will take place in a single-phase. As of 28 January 2014, the total voter strength of Meghalaya was 1,553,028. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC) and National People’s Party are some of the prominent political heavyweight parties in Meghalaya.

Meghalaya has had 12 chief ministers since 1970, six of which belonged to the Indian National Congress (INC). The current chief minister of the state is Conrad Sangma, who belongs to the National People's Party. He assumed office on March 6, 2018.


Constituency wise dates of polling in Meghalaya:

Phase 1 (Date of polling: April 11, 2019)

Shillong, Tura

Results of the Lok Sabha Election will be announced on 23 May.
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.