Meghalaya Lok Sabha Election Result 2019

Meghalaya Lok Sabha Election Result 2019

winner - 02/02
National People's Party1

ConstituencyBJP Candidate NameCongress Candidate NameNPP Candidate Name
ShillongSanbor Shullai, MLAVincent H Pala (Winner)
TuraRikman G MomimMukul M SangmaAgatha Sangma (Winner)

According to the Times Now-VMR exit polls, Meghalaya which has two Lok Sabha seats will see one go to Congress while the other would go to the National People’s Party.

Meghalaya has two Lok Sabha constituencies. Both these constituencies are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes. Shillong and Tura are the two parliamentary seats that went for polling on April 11, during the first phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019. As the electors are keen to know the results of the general elections in the state, Congress is trying hard to retain its stronghold of Shillong. The Tura seat is now held by NPP duly supported by the BJP. On the other hand, the Congress party holds the Shillong constituency over some decades.

Six candidates are contesting from the Shillong constituency namely incent Pal of Congress, Jemino Mawthoh of United Democratic Party, Sanbur Shullai of the BJP and three independent candidates including THS Bonney, Samuel Hashah and Romeo Phira Rani. In the Tura Lok Sabha seat, there are three candidates fighting for their results hoping to win the Lok Sabha elections 2019 including Agatha Sanghma of the NPP, Mukul Sangma of the Congress and Rikman G Momin of BJP. According to the chief electoral officer FR Kharkongor, two independent candidates namely Kennedy Khyriem and Justice Kharbasanti withdrew their candidate applications. Thus we see nine candidates waiting to try their luck for the 2 seats in Meghalaya.