Odisha exit poll 2019: Election Result can surprise Biju Janata Dal

Odisha Exit Poll 2019 Result
Party Names2014 ResultTimesNow - VMRNews 18C -VoterTodays's Chanakya
BJD (Biju Janata Dal)20813117
BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)11271014
INC (Indian National Congress)01100

Business Insider compiled surveys from five reputed sources — Republic-C Voter, NDTV - Hansa, Today's Chanakya, India Today-Axis, and TimesNow - VMR — amongst many others and the final number is an average of these five polls.

The eastern state of Odisha has a coastline of 485 kilometers along the Bay of Bengal. The total geographical extent of Odisha is 155,707 kilometers. Earlier called as Orissa, Odisha is the 11th largest state in India in terms of population and 9th largest in terms of area. Odisha state has a total number of 3,18,41,171 eligible voters as per the electoral rolls of the Election Commission of India. Among them, 1,63,76,190 are males and 1,54,62,049 are females in addition to 2,932 third gender electors.

In 2014 general elections, Odisha gave 20 seats to BJD and one seat to BJP. BJD won 14 seats in 2009 elections while INC got 6 constituencies and CPI bagged 1 seat. In 2004 Parliamentary elections, BJD could win from 11 seats while BJP got 7 seats and INC got 2 seats leaving independent candidate to win from the remaining 1 seat.

The state of Odisha has 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in total. Among them, 3 are reserved for scheduled castes and 5 are reserved for scheduled tribes. Odisha can send 10 Rajya Sabha members to represent it. The state has 147 assembly constituencies and the last assembly elections in the state was held in May 2014. During Lok Sabha elections 2019, Odisha went for polling during the first four phases on April 11, April 18, April 23 and April 29.