Bihar, Assam, Sikkim and other eastern states vote for 15 assembly and LS seat

Voting for the by-elections to 15 Assembly constituencies and one Lok Sabha seat in six states of the eastern region began on Monday amid tight security.

Of the 15 Assembly seats, five are in Bihar followed by four in Assam, three in Sikkim and one each in Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Meghalaya.

The lone Lok Sabha seat going to the by-polls is in Bihar.


Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang is among the prominent candidates in the fray.

Voting is taking place in Samastipur (SC) Lok Sabha seat besides Kishanganj, Nathnagar, Belhar, Simri Bakhtiyarpur and Daraunda Assembly constituencies in Bihar.

More than 30 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect from among 51 candidates in Bihar.


By-elections to four Assam constituencies - Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari and Jania - will decide the fate of 20 contestants.