Mangolpuri Assembly Candidate list in Delhi State Election 2020

S.No.NamePartyGenderAgeTotal Number of CasesSerious IPC CountsEducation LevelTotal Assets (Rs.)
1Karam Singh KarmaBJPM450012th5,29,12,5725 Crore+
2Rajesh LilothiaINCM5400post_graduate4,57,45,6794 Crore+
3Murari LalBSPM45005th1,09,31,9561 Crore+
4Deepak KumarBhartiyaSamajik Nyay PartyM36005th4,75,7004 Lacs+
5Virender RaySwaraj IndiaM400010th2,87,9002 Lacs+
6Rakhi BirlaAAPF3212 (1 charge related to House-trespass after preparation for hurt, assault or wrongful restraint )(IPC Section-452)1 charge related to criminal intimidation (IPCSection-506))post_graduate76,42176 Thou+

Mangolpuri assembly constituency of Delhi Vidhan Sabha falls within the jurisdiction of the North West Delhi Lok Sabha seat. The five year term of the Delhi Vidhan Sabha closes on 22 February 2020 and hence Mangolpuri will see the assembly elections in February 2020 along with the other 69 constituencies of Delhi. In total, the Mangolpuri assembly seat has 178935 voters consisting of 96110 men, 82816 women and 9 third gender voters.

Last time, the assembly elections in Mangolpuri was conducted in 2015. During these elections, Rakhi Birla of AAP secured 60534 votes and overtook his opponent Rajkumar Chauhan of INC who could get 37835 votes. Notably, Rakhi Birla’s score was the highest a candidate contesting in the assembly poll from this seat had ever got. AAP has been holding this seat since 2013 elections as Rakhi Birla became MLA of this constituency two times representing the party. In both these elections, he defeated INC’s Raj Kumar Chauhan with a very good vote margin.

Earlier, Raj Kumar Chauhan was the longest standing MLA from this seat since 1993. In all the four elections conducted before 2013, Raj Kumar Chauhan represented INC and became the MLA for four consecutive terms. So, till 2013, he remained the popular choice of the voters in this constituency. Mangolpuri is a reserved seat set aside for SC candidates. For quite long in the history of Mangolpuri, the BJP could not win this seat. INC’s stronghold over this assembly seat was challenged only in 2013 general elections when AAP’s Rakhi Birla secured this seat.


Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.