Chandrakant Patil called 'Amit Shah of Maharashtra' wins by a wide margin in Kothrud

  • Chandrakant Bacchu Patil of BJP won with 101,943 votes at Kothrud near Pune.
  • He secured a vote share of 54% as per election commission website .
  • His closest competitor Kishor Nana Shinde of MNS has secured 76,696 votes.
BJP's Chandrakant Bacchu Patil's fight to finish was nailbiting and curious. But it all ended well as he won at Kothrud in Pune, and also established a wide 25,000 vote margin over his MNS opponent Kishor Nana Shinde. Both the candidates fought the battle neck to neck for hours.

But, by 4:46, Patil secured 101,943 votes while Nane managed 76,696 votes. Patil started with a 61% vote share at 10:46 am which was cut down to 52% in the next few hours as Shinde's votes spiked.

Shah's mentee's career also mimicks that of the union home minister, who also entered the cabinet after he contested in 2014 elections. Patil’s victory is extremely important at the national level for BJP, as he is known to be the Amit Shah of Maharashtra. Not only is he the second most important person in the party in the state, it is also his first election. Patil is known to be Shah’s blue eyed boy and his eyes and ears in the state.

The union home minister Amit Shah himself fielded him in the key Pune constituency. While doing so he has angered the strongest Pune Brahmin community as he overlooked a popular candidate of the community—Medha Kulkarni.

Added to that, Patil does not hail from the Kothrud area, which became the poll campaign of Shinde who used the ‘outsider’ jibe at numerous speeches he gave. But he has the backing of big guns from BJP. Apart from Shah who campaigned extensively in the state, Modi himself addressed a rally in Pune, this election.

Patil victory or loss will ruffle many feathers in the state due to his origins in the Maratha community. If he builds his political profile like his mentor Shah, he would probably challenge the supremacy of chief minister and state party leader—Devendra Fadnavis.


Maharashtra Assembly Election 2019 results: BJP combine in the lead but Sena's wins might crack their fragile bond

Sena scion Aaditya Thackeray is leading with 13,834 votes and 75% vote share in Worli

Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.