Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal⁠ is set for a second term, beats BJP's Sunil Yadav by a margin of 21697 votes

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal⁠ is set for a second term, beats BJP's Sunil Yadav by a margin of 21697 votes
  • According to early trends, Arvind Kejriwal is leading from the New Delhi constituency.
  • Kejriwal is seeking re-election this time.
  • The counting began at 8 am.
In New Delhi constituency, Arvind Kejriwal has won, leaving behind BJP's Sunil Yadav. Kejriwal won with a margin of 21,697 votes. In 2015, Kejriwal won the election with a margin of 31583 votes.

With this, Kejriwal is set for a second term as Delhi's Chief Minister. He had a 61.1% vote share.

Candidate NameRomesh Sabharwal Sunil YadavArvind Kejriwal
Party CongressBJPAAP
Status LostLostWon

In 2013, the barely year old Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) led by Arvind Kejriwal was called the giant killer as it dethroned the late Sheila Dikshit of Congress — the chief minister of Delhi for three consecutive terms then. Six years later, the muffler-wearing Arvind Kejriwal is ready to face the people’s verdict on his administration so far.

The last six years have been eventful for the nascent politician, who at first denied any political ambitions ⁠— from questionable appointments to resignations to CBI raids to street protests et al, it has been controversies galore. Yet, as it seems at this stage, AAP may win a comfortable majority of 59 seats of the total 70 in the Delhi assembly elections.

AAP was first put to the test when they announced that they will field candidates in all the 70-assembly seats in Delhi in 2013.


The Delhi Assembly Elections 2013 registered highest voter turnout in years and AAP won 28 out of 70 seats shocking the nation — not least its rivals — BJP and Congress. Yet, he was short of eight seats to form the government and so, he joined hands with the ruling party he campaigned against, the Congress, and used their support to become the union territory’s chief minister. But that government had to vacate the seat in 49 days. The arrangement between AAP and Congress was always tenuous and Kejriwal knew it better than anyone else. He had other plans. He came back to power in 2015 after winning 67 out of 70 assembly seats.

Arvind Kejriwal had 10 cases against him in 2015 — the same year when he emerged victorious by winning 67 out of 70 vidhan sabha seats in New Delhi, according to election watchdog ADR. Out of the 10 charges against Kejriwal, 4 were serious including rioting and assault.

According to the affidavit, Kejriwal declared 47 charges levelled against him. It includes hurting and detering public servants from performing their duty; disobedience; rioting and defamation.

See also: Delhi Assembly Election 2020: All you need to know about the upcoming Delhi Assembly Election