The Main Parties In The Jharkhand Election Scene – 2019 Assembly Elections

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister and Jharkhand Vikash Morcha President Babulal Marandi addresses a press conference ahead of Jharkhand Assembly election in Ranchi.Photo)(
With the tenure of the present Vidhan Sabha ending on 5 January 2020, the Election Commission has announced the assembly elections to select the next government for Jharkhand that will occupy the state’s throne. The polling in the state will be conducted in 5 phases starting from 30 November 2019 and so the election scene is becoming hot with all the major parties trying their luck to grab as many seats as possible. The major parties in the state of Jharkhand that can influence the election results include BJP, AJSU, JVM, JMM, and INC.


BJP faced the 2014 assembly elections in the state in alliance with AJSU (All Jharkhand Students’ Union). Out of the total number of 81 assembly seats, BJP got 37 seats and its ally AJSU contributed its 5 seats. Hence, BJP could form a coalition government in the state with 42 MLAs whereas the total number required for a majority government is 41. Raghubar Das of BJP is the present Chief Minister for Jharkhand. Shri Laxman Gilua is the party leader for the BJP in Jharkhand.


AJSU has hinted that it will not go for ties with BJP this time when the party is now confronting the 2019 assembly elections. Sudesh Kumar Mahto is the party’s Jharkhand state president. Addressing the press people recently, AJSU chief spokesman Deosharan Bhagat said, "Our intention is very clear that a strong government should be formed in Jharkhand and issues relating to Jharkhand should be solved strongly." The party has strongly hinted about facing the elections independently so that they can focus on winning as many seats as possible. In 2014 election, the party won only 5 seats which were contributed to form the coalition government in the state with the BJP.


Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) or Jharkhand Development Front (Democratic) was started in 2006 by Babulal Marandi who was formerly a Union Minister and the Jharkhand Chief Minister. He left the BJP on charges that the party had sidelined him and failed to recognize him and hence started JVM. The party president has announced that JVM will face the upcoming assembly elections alone and hence will nominate its candidates to contest from all the 81 seats. In the 2014 assembly elections, the party had won only 2 seats.


INC is facing the 2019 general elections for the Vidhan Sabha in Jharkhand in alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). After providing the details about the pre-poll alliance, the party’s Jharkhand state in-charge RPN Singh has announced that the former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren will be the chief minister candidate for the alliance. As per the alliance terms, the Congress will contest in 31 out of 81 seats. RJD will contest from 7 seats and JMM will nominate its candidates from 43 seats. In 2014 elections for the Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha, INC got 6 seats, JMM got 19 seats and RJD did not get any seats.

Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.