These Names Are In CM Race In Jharkhand assembly Election

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) (JVM-P) President Babulal Marandi greets party workers during Janadesh Samagam' rally ahead of Jharkhand Assembly elections at Prabhat Tara ground, in Ranchi.Photo)(
Jharkhand Assembly Elections are nearing and the state is now gearing up to select the next government that will take charge of the state’s Vidhan Sabha once the term of the present government ends on 5 January 2020. The election scene in the state is turning highly interesting with some top candidates eyeing the CM seat. We see the following names in the CM race in Jharkhand now.

Raghubar Das

Raghubar Das is the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand who completed the full term of his office on the CM seat after the formation of the state in 2000. Representing BJP, he became the CM following 2014 assembly elections as the party could get 37 seats and form the coalition government with AJSU which contributed its 5 seats to form a majority government with 42 seats. Never to miss another chance to become the CM this time, Raghubar Das might be contesting from Ranchi or Dhanbad in addition to his home constituency Jamshedpur East in the upcoming 2019 assembly elections.


Babulal Marandi

Babulal Marandi earlier represented BJP and became the first chief minister of the state in the interim government formed for the assembly in November 2000 and remained in power for two years till March 2003. In 2006, he left BJP and formed JVM (Jharkhand Vikas Morcha). Babulal Marandi contested from two seats in 2014 assembly elections. Unfortunately he lost both these seats. This time, he said he will be reattempting to fight from two constituencies as he did in 2014 elections.

Hemant Soren in the shadow of Shibu Soren


Following Shibu Soren’s retirement from public life, his son Heman Soren emerges from his shadow to provide the leadership to JMM. In 2005 elections, Shibu Soren’s JMM won from 17 seats. Though BJP secured 30 seats, Shibu Soren became the CM and remained in the office only for 10 days as he failed to prove his majority support. Between 2008 and 2010, Shibu Soren became the CM of Jharkhand two times. And the state was put under the president’s rule successively. Shibu Soren also became the CM for four months till January 2009 after Madhu Koda, an independent resigned. Between June and September, Shibu Soren once again became the CM for just five months.

This time, JMM, INC and RJD are together facing the assembly elections in the state and the alliance has said the former CM of Jharkhand Hemant Soren will be the CM face of the mahagathbandhan for the upcoming elections. In 2014 assembly elections, Hemant Soren represented his party JMM by contesting from two seats namely Dumka and Barhet, but lost Dumka and could win only from Barhet.

Gourav Vallabh


The Congress Party is fielding Gaurav Vallabh as the party’s chief minister candidate for the upcoming assembly elections in Jharkhand. Gaurav Vallabh served as the professor in finance at XLRI Management Institute in Jamshedpur. Born in a family of academicians, he is the first one to join politics. His recent debate in the media with BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra helped him rise to prominence.