Terrorism- accused Sadhvi Pragya Thakur leads with over 400,000 votes in Bhopal Lok Sabha seat

Pragya Thakur leads by 4.48 lakh votes against Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal.

The BJP candidate was leading in early trends with 57.74% vote share, received after counting of postal ballots in Madhya Pradesh's Bhopal constituency. Thakur is contesting against former Chief Minister and Congress candidate Digvijaya Singh.

Digvijay Singh of the Indian National Congress was trailing with 40.24% votes.


Bhopal went to polls with eight other constituencies in Madhya Pradesh in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha Election 2019. It recorded a 61.71% voting turnout.

Bhopal has grabbed a lot of attention after the BJP fielded the controversial Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon bomb blast case, against veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

Thakur, who joined the race for Bhopal almost a month after Digvijaya Singh's candidature was finalised, is no longer just a candidate but has become an election issue. Many have raised questions over her candidature, wondering if someone who's out on bail in a terror case should be allowed to contest elections.


Madhya Pradesh poses a big challenge for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it lost power in the state after over a decade in the 2018 that paved the way for Congress leader Kamal Nath to become Chief Minister.

See also:
It’s 2019 and India is debating if the murder of Mahatma Gandhi was Godse’s ‘patriot act’