Check out the youngest players in IPL 2021

Apr 18, 2021

By: Vaamanaa Sethi

The Indian Premier League is known to put the spotlight on young talent and this year too,...

...there are a bunch of youngsters looking to make a mark on the big stage.

Credit: BCCL

Akash Singh — 18 years

The left-arm pacer will make his debut with Rajasthan Royals in IPL series 2021. With 7 wickets in the Under-19 world cup, Singh was among the top bowlers for India.

Credit: Youtube

Abdul Samad ⁠— 19 years

The big hitter is off to a good start this season too. He hit ace bowler Pat Cummins for two thumping sixes that stood out in a match that SRH lost.

Credit: BCCL

Marco Jansen ⁠— 20 years

Youngest player of the team, Jansen made his debut with Mumbai Indians against Royal Challengers in IPL series 2021. He took 2 wickets for 28 runs in his first match, which included the wicket of Glenn Maxwell.

Credit: Sportskeeda

Ravi Bishnoi ⁠— 20 years

One of the best performers of Punjab Kings in IPL 2020, leg spinner Bishnoi took 12 wickets in 14 matches last year. He didn’t play in the team’s opener against Rajasthan Royals this time.

Credit: BCCL

Devdutt Padikkal ⁠— 20 years

Emerging Player Award winner in IPL 2020, Padikkal made his debut playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore. He made 473 runs in 15 matches with a strike rate of nearly 125. In his only things this season, he fell for a 13 ball 11 to Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.

Credit: BCCL

Kamlesh Nagarkoti — 21 years

Star of 2018 Under-19 World Cup, the promising fast bowler Nagarkoti made his IPL debut in 2020 for Kolkata Knight Riders. He played around 10 matches and took 5 wickets. He is yet to play a match this season.

Credit: TOI

Bhagath Varma ⁠— 22 years

This off-spinner all-rounder will feature in this IPL season with Chennai Super Kings franchise. He was last seen in Vijay Hazare Trophy playing for Hyderabad.

Credit: Sportstar

Prithvi Shaw ⁠— 21 years

Shaw had a great start this year in a match winning knock of 72 against Chennai Super Kings in Wankhede, where the Delhi Capital won the game with 7 wickets to spare.

Credit: BCCL

Debris of China's disintegrating rocket falls into Indian Ocean