India vs Australia WTC Final – Squads, head-to-head, where to watch and more

Jun 5, 2023

By: Sourabh Jain

What’s on stake?

India will take on Australia in the World Test Championship (WTC) final of the 2021-23 season. The winner will be awarded the prestigious Test Mace and crowned the Test champion of the world.

Credit: BCCI

Mark the date

The India vs Australia WTC final will take place between June 7 -11, with June 12 being scheduled as the reserve day.

Credit: BCCI

The WTC final venue

The WTC final between India and Australia will take place at the Kennington Oval Stadium, popularly known as The Oval in London, England. Notably, the first WTC final was also played in London at the iconic Lords.

Credit: BCCI

World Test Championship prize

The winners of the WTC final will get the Test Mace and a prize of $1.6 million (about ₹13.21 crore). The runner up will get $800,000 (about ₹6.6 crore).

Credit: ICC

Previous winner

New Zealand emerged as the winner of the first WTC after defeating India in the final in the 2019-21 season.

Credit: ICC

Indian squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat (wk), Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadakt and Umesh Yadav. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav are the reserves.

Credit: BCCL

Australian squad

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Josh Inglis, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and David Warner. Mitch Marsh and Matt Renshaw are reserves.

Credit: BCCL

India vs Australia head-to-head

India has played 106 test matches against Australia. Of these, India has won 32 matches and lost 44, one was tied while 29 matches ended in a draw.

Credit: BCCL

Where to watch in India

The WTC final can be watched on the Star Sports network and on Disney Plus Hotstar.

Credit: Disney-Plus-Hotstar

WTC timing

The India vs Australia WTC final will begin at 3:30 pm and end at 10:30 pm IST on each day. If the allotted overs are not completed in time, the game may be extended by up to 30 minutes.

Credit: BCCI

Nifty, Sensex bounce back on Friday but experts see resistance at higher levels