Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Virat Kohli & more: IPL man of the series winners since 2008

May 31, 2023

By: Rounak Jain

Shubman Gill – 2023

Gujarat Titans’ opener Shubman Gill won the man of the series (MOTS) award for top scoring with 890 runs at a strike rate of 157.8.

Credit: BCCL

Jos Buttler – 2022

England captain and Rajasthan Royals player Jos Buttler won the MOTS award in 2022 for scoring 863 runs at a strike rate of 149.05.

Credit: BCCL

Harshal Patel – 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Harshal Patel grabbed the MOTS award in 2021 for taking 32 wickets at a strike rate of 10.56 and an economy of 8.14.

Credit: BCCL

Jofra Archer – 2020

England pacer and Rajasthan Royals’ Jofra Archer bagged the MOTS award for claiming 20 wickets and scoring 113 runs during the season.

Credit: BCCL

Andre Russell – 2019 and 2015

Windies player and a long-time Kolkata Knight Riders’ all-rounder Andre Russell bagged the MOTS award in 2019 for scoring 510 runs and claiming 11 wickets. This was his second after winning it in 2015 for taking 14 wickets and scoring 326 runs.

Credit: BCCL

Sunil Narine – 2018 and 2012

Another Windies player and Kolkata Knight Riders’ star Sunil Narine emerged as the MOTS in 2018 for scoring 357 runs and bagging 17 wickets. He also won the award in 2012 for taking 24 wickets.

Credit: BCCL

Ben Stokes – 2017

England all-rounder Ben Stokes, who played for Rising Pune Supergiant in 2017, won the MOTS award for taking 12 wickets and scoring 316 runs.

Credit: BCCL

Virat Kohli – 2016

One of the cricketing greats, Virat Kohli bagged the MOTS award in 2016 for scoring 973 runs, which is also the highest run tally by any player in a single season of IPL.

Credit: BCCL

Glenn Maxwell – 2014

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell had a great season with Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab) in 2014, bagging the MOTS award by scoring 552 runs and taking 1 wicket.

Credit: BCCL

Previous winners

Shane Watson (2013, 2008), Chris Gayle (2011), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Adam Gilchrist (2009).

Credit: BCCL

Nifty, Sensex bounce back on Friday but experts see resistance at higher levels