- The controversial privacy update on WhatsApp has been rolled out on May 15.
- The Indian government has challenged the rollout of the update in the high court.
View all Offers
- 69% OFF
Fire-Boltt Beast SpO2 1.69” Industry’s Largest Display Size Full Touch Smart Watch with Blood Oxygen Monitoring, Heart Rate Monitor, Multiple Watch Faces & Long Battery Life (Black)₹ 2499₹ 2499Buy On
- 30% OFF
Western Digital WD 1.5TB Elements USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive Compatible with PC, PS4 & Xbox - (WDBU6Y0015BBK-WESN)₹ 3862₹ 3862Buy On
- 44% OFF
Elica 90 cm 1200 m3/hr Filterless Auto Clean Chimney (WDFL 906 HAC MS NERO, Touch + Motion Sensor Control, Black)₹ 13299₹ 26990Buy On
- 17% OFF
IFB 8kg 5 Star Fully-Automatic Front Loading Washing Machine (Senator WSS Steam, Silver, Inbuilt Heater, Aqua Energie Water Softener), Large₹ 36490₹ 43990Buy On
Samsung 7 kg Fully-Automatic Top Loading Washing Machine (WA70A4002GS/TL, Imperial Silver, Diamond drum)₹ 17490₹ 19800Buy On
“We are still trying to persuade consumers but if they don’t accept slowly, slowly these accounts will be deleted. There is no universal deadline for this,” senior advocate Kapil Sibal, representing the Facebook-owned company, said. However, the Centre, in response said the new privacy policies of the app violates the Indian Information Technology (IT) Act, 2000 and asked the social media platform not to bring in any changes for now. Additional Solicitor General (ASG) Chetan Sharma, appearing for Centre added that the government has written to Facebook’s chief executive Mark Zuckerberg on the issue and a reply is awaited.
If you don’t accept the terms of service
Users not complying with the policy haven't lost their current chat history and backup either, But they will be limited to use some of the features. You can still answer video and voice calls, reply to messages in the first few weeks, but you cannot open the chat list because you'll be welcomed with a pop up reminding you of the new terms of service.
You won't be able to:
- set status updates within the app
- forward messages from one chat to other
- manage and use the broadcast list
- create new groups
- quote messages or tag participants in group chat
- send voice messages, stickers and other media within the app
- manually backup chat history
- export your chat history
- use the Click To Chat service
Note that WhatsApp won't delete your account and chats but you'll only be able to access and use it after accepting the terms. As per WABetaInfo, WhatsApp might still delete your account (chats, messages, backups) after a certain period (4 months) due to inactivity.
If you have accepted the terms of service
Many users believe that accepting the new terms and conditions will allow Facebook to gather more of their data, but it's not the case. You can still use the app to chat, call or send voice notes to friends and family while keeping it private just how it used to be. The change, however, is with how you interact with WhatsApp business accounts.
These special accounts that use tools to manage and store chat can be recognised by a mark at the top of the conversation. Also, your data (like what you see on the platform) might be shared with Facebook, if you use Facebook Shop. It is an optional feature available for business accounts. So avoiding the use of Facebook Shop will also keep data related to your behavioural pattern safe.
Should you accept the terms or not?
The bigger picture will bring the argument to an individual choice, but a shorter answer is that it's safe and not a lot will change after accepting. If you read all the details above, your privacy and data aren't hampered unless you don't engage with the business accounts that use cloud providers and the Facebook Shop. Both are optional features, and you won't be forced to use them in any case.
Except for this part, the platform remains just how it was before May 15.
Google said to rival Apple’s privacy push with Android 12 while taking care of its advertising business
Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg has six months to answer these five questions