'Does Tinder notify users of screenshots?': No, but here's what you should know before you screenshot a conversation or profile

Tinder does not notify other users of your screenshots.Plume Creative/Getty Images
  • Tinder does not notify users of screenshots taken by others, unlike apps like Snapchat.
  • This means that you can take screenshots of profiles and conversations on Tinder without the other person being notified.
  • You should always remember, though, not to share anyone else's personal information online without their consent.

The widespread use of Snapchat has acclimated most social media users to the concept of the screenshot notification. If you're a Tinder user, there have probably been multiple occasions in which you wanted to take a screenshot of something on the app.

Maybe you had a conversation with a match that was too funny not to save — after all, on the off chance that you get married, that conversation will be a great relic to show your future grandchildren, right?

You can screenshot a conversation without the other person knowing.Tinder
Advertisement

Or, maybe you've had an unsettling conversation that you want to share with a friend to get validation or a second opinion on your interpretation.

It may even be something as simple as trying to decide how to swipe on someone you're not sure about, and wanting to get a friend's advice on their profile.

Regardless of the reason, you may have felt hesitation about screenshotting any part of an interaction on Tinder, worrying you may ruin your chances with the person you're screenshotting if they see that you're doing it.
Advertisement

Tinder does not notify users of screenshots

The good news on that front, though, is that Tinder doesn't notify anybody when you take a screenshot, unlike apps like Snapchat (and Instagram, in one instance). You can capture anything on the app and save it, and nobody will know. You can take a screenshot on almost any device, such as your Lenovo, HP, Dell, Windows, or Mac computer, or on your Google Pixel, iPhone, or Galaxy S10 mobile device.

Now, it's important to remember that you should be careful with how you use this power. You should never expose someone's personal information without their permission, and just because Tinder doesn't notify them doesn't mean they can't find out another way if you post about them online or share their messages or profile with a large group. If you want to post a funny or creepy conversation on social media, do the polite thing and censor the person's personal information out of the picture.Advertisement

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

{{}}