How to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger
- There's no built-in tool that lets you know if someone has blocked you on
- However, you can infer that you've been blocked on Messenger from the state of the status icon on a message you've sent.
- If you send a message to someone and the message is not delivered, meaning an unfilled check mark icon appears, you may have been blocked.
Facebook doesn't make it easy to know whether someone has blocked you.
They do this for privacy and security reasons, which means that, unfortunately, you won't get confirmation that someone has blocked your account.
However, it is possible to deduce whether you've been blocked based on how the Messenger app behaves when you try to send a message.
Here's how you can tell if someone's blocked you on the
How to know if someone blocked you on Messenger
When you use the Messenger app on your phone or in a browser on your desktop, you are probably familiar with the status icons next to the messages you send. There are four such icons:
- An unfilled, empty circle means the message has not been sent. This is typically because you don't have any internet access when you try to send a message.
- An unfilled icon with a check mark means the message has been sent but not delivered to the recipient.
- A check mark icon that's filled in means the message has been delivered.
- An icon that's filled with your recipient's profile picture means it has been read.
As long as the recipient is logged into Facebook, your message should be delivered within a few moments, which means you'll see the check mark icon's filled-in version. Of course, it might not be read for a while; your recipient needs to open Messenger and view the message thread for that to happen.
If you send a message to someone and the message is not delivered, meaning that only an unfilled check mark icon appears, it generally means one of two things:
- The user has not logged into Facebook.
- The user has blocked you on Messenger.
It's not always possible to tell the difference, but if you see that the recipient has posted to his or her Facebook page or comments on other people's posts, that implies he or she is logged into Facebook. If your message remains undelivered, you are probably blocked.How to turn off active status on Facebook and Messenger to appear offline everywhere you're logged in How to delete individual Facebook messages or entire conversations on your computer or mobile device How to block or unblock someone on the Facebook Messenger app How to see a list of users you've blocked on Facebook in 5 simple steps
- 'Texting between iPhone and Android is broken:' Google puts Apple on blast for converting Android texts to green bubbles and 'blurry' compressed videos
- Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 beta arrives next month – here’s how to get early access
- Indian diamantaires want to make lab-grown diamonds a woman’s best friend
- OPINION: World Biofuel Day — Can biofuel help sustainably meet the growing energy needs of India?
- Kotak Mahindra rolls out a lifestyle focused salary account
- Trading on Indian crypto exchange WazirX drops by over 55%, WRX token loses sheen
- Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 4, Z Flip 4, Watch 5 series, and Buds 2 Pro launched: Check price, specifications and photos
- Will Aamir Khan’s Laal Singh Chaddha be the box of chocolates Bollywood is waiting for?