How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app

Advertisement
How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
You can deactivate your Twitter account on a computer or mobile device.ALASTAIR PIKE/Getty Images
  • You have the option to deactivate your Twitter account if you no longer want or need it.
  • Twitter account deactivation is temporary for the first 30 days, during which you can still reactivate your handle before losing your account and all its data forever.
  • You can reuse your email address and Twitter username if you change those items in your account settings before deactivation.
  • If you decide before 30 days are up that you want to reactivate your account, log in like usual.
Advertisement

If you're looking to take a social media hiatus or want to start completely fresh with a new Twitter account, the social media site offers the ability to deactivate your account.

After deactivating your account, your tweets and messages will be removed from Twitter. However, search engines may archive some of your content, so even if your account is gone, those tweets may not be scrubbed entirely from the internet. If you don't want search engines archiving your tweets, consider making your Twitter account private.

If you are deactivating your Twitter account but want to use that username or email address with a new account later, you'll need to make some changes to your account settings. Once you deactivate, the decision is mostly permanent, with the platform granting you the option to reactivate an account within 30 days. After that, it's gone permanently.

Complimentary Tech Event
Discover the future of SaaS in India
The 6-part video series will capture the vision of Indian SaaS leaders and highlight the potential for the sector in the decades to come.25th Aug, 2022 Starts at 04:00 PM (40 mins)Register Now
Our Speakers
Dan Sheeran
Sandeep Gupta

Deactivation is not a way to troubleshoot problems with a Twitter account. You should only do this if you genuinely no longer want your handle.

You can deactivate your Twitter account from the mobile app or web browser. Here's how to do it.

Advertisement

How to deactivate Twitter using the mobile app

1. With the Twitter app open, tap your profile avatar.

2. Choose "Settings and privacy."

3. Select "Account."

4. Tap "Deactivate your account."

How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
You can deactivate your account with just a few taps.Dave Johnson/Business Insider

5. Confirm you want to deactivate the account by tapping "Deactivate" and then re-confirm the deactivation.

Advertisement

How to deactivate Twitter using a desktop web browser

1. Open Twitter in a browser.

2. Log in to your account if needed.

3. Click the three-dotted "More" icon in the left-side Twitter bar.

How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
You can control your ad settings, analytics and more from this menu.Abbey White/Business Insider

4. Select "Settings and privacy" from the menu that appears.

5. Choose "Account."

Advertisement

6. Click "Deactivate your account."

7. Confirm you want to deactivate the account by tapping "Deactivate." You'll need to confirm deactivation a second time.

How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
This is permanent after 30 days, so you need to confirm deactivation twice.Dave Johnson/Business Insider

How to reuse your username or email on Twitter in the future

You can take the following steps before deactivating your account to preserve your current username or email address for future use.

1. Open Twitter in a browser and log in.

2. Click the "More" option on the left side of the screen.

Advertisement

3. Choose "Settings and privacy."

4. In the Account section, select "Username" and enter a new one.

5. Likewise, click "Email" and enter a new email address.

How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
If you change your username before deactivating, you can reuse it later.Dave Johnson/Business Insider

6. Select "Save changes" at the bottom of the screen.

7. Confirm the new email when Twitter sends you a confirmation email.

Advertisement

How to reactivate a Twitter account

1. Open Twitter in a browser.

2. Log in to your deactivated account.

3. A Twitter message will ask you to confirm you want to reactivate.

How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app
Twitter will display a message asking if you want to reactivate the account.Abbey White/Business Insider

4. Your account will be restored, though it might take a few days for all your tweets and messages to reappear.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

{{}}