How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion

How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion
It's easy to delete your Telegram account, but be certain before you do, because the action is irreversible.SOPA Images / Contributor/Getty Images
  • You can delete a Telegram account in a few steps from a web browser.
  • Account deletion cannot be performed in the Telegram mobile app.
  • You'll need to have your Telegram registered device handy to perform the account deletion.

Although many chat users are dropping their fealty to WhatsApp in favor of Telegram, there are other fierce chat competitors on the market as well.

For instance, you might be interested in deleting your Telegram account in favor of another popular WhatsApp alternative, like Signal.

Fortunately, deleting your Telegram account is a painless process, though it can't be done from the app, only from a web browser. Deleting your account is irreversible - once your account is deleted, all your data such as messages, groups, and contacts will be erased. Members of groups you've created will still be able to continue the group chat without you, though, and they'll still have their own record of your messages.
Advertisement
Here's how you can delete Telegram from a web browser in five steps.

How to delete your Telegram account from a web browser

1. On a web browser of your choice, navigate to Telegram's "Delete Account or Manage Apps" page.

2. Enter your phone number, including country code, and click "Next."
Advertisement

How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion
Enter your number and hit "Next" to receive a confirmation code.Emma Witman/Business Insider

3. You will receive a confirmation code from Telegram in the Telegram app on your registered mobile device. Enter the code and click "Sign in."

How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion
The confirmation code will be sent to the Telegram mobile app. You'll see a notification for the code right away if notifications are enabled on your device.Emma Witman/Business Insider
4. Click "Delete My Account." You don't have to include a reason why you're leaving, but a space is provided for feedback.
How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion
Deleting your account might mean you can't sign up for Telegram again for a few days, so proceed carefully.Emma Witman/Business Insider
5. To finalize, click "Yes, delete my account" when prompted.
Advertisement
How to delete your account on the Telegram messaging platform, which wipes all your data upon deletion
If you've changed your mind about deleting Telegram, you can still back out when prompted here.Emma Witman/Business Insider

You're all set. Just be aware that you may not be able to create a Telegram account again for a few days if you later change your mind and want to use the service again. If you do create a new account, you'll be registered as an entirely new user, without any of your old data or chat history.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

{{}}