How to enable waiting rooms in Zoom to prevent 'Zoom bombing'

zoom meeting computer

Zoom

Zoom.

  • As the coronavirus closes schools and workplaces, people are increasingly turning to Zoom video calls.
  • Some public Zoom calls have dealt with trolls joining and sharing graphic images, and online classes have faced people hijacking a meeting, called "Zoom bombing."
  • Zoom has a setting called waiting room that lets an administrator screen people before allowing them into meetings.
  • Visit Business Insider's homepage for more stories.

COVID-19, the coronavirus disease, has closed schools and workplaces around the US as it becomes the hardest-hit country in the world.

In response, schools have turned to tools like Zoom for remote learning, even for children as young as two years old. As Zoom becomes central to daily life, "Zoom bombing," or trolls taking over an online meeting without permission and bombarding the meeting with pornographic images, has increased. The FBI reportedly noted two recent incidents in Massachussetts schools.
Advertisement
Zoom has a hidden tool to prevent Zoom bombing, called waiting room. The setting lets a meeting administrator screen who can enter the call, preventing uninvited guests from taking over. Here's how to enable it.

Do you have a personal experience with the coronavirus you'd like to share? Or a tip on how your town or community is handling the pandemic? Please email covidtips@businessinsider.com and tell us your story.

And get the latest coronavirus analysis and research from Business Insider Intelligence on how COVID-19 is impacting businesses.

{{}}

Go to account management > account setting, and scroll down to the "Waiting Room" option. Toggle it on.

Go to account management > account setting, and scroll down to the "Waiting Room" option. Toggle it on.

Once the setting is enabled, choose who it applies to. "All participants" puts everyone in the waiting room by default, and "guest participants only" adds people on different Zoom accounts or who are not logged in into the waiting room. You can also allow other participants to admit people from the waiting room.

Once the setting is enabled, choose who it applies to. "All participants" puts everyone in the waiting room by default, and "guest participants only" adds people on different Zoom accounts or who are not logged in into the waiting room. You can also allow other participants to admit people from the waiting room.
Advertisement

Once enabled, waiting rooms can also be set up for specific meetings. To do this, first schedule a meeting.

Once enabled, waiting rooms can also be set up for specific meetings. To do this, first schedule a meeting.

That button takes you to a calendar of upcoming meetings.

That button takes you to a calendar of upcoming meetings.
Advertisement

There, check to enable the waiting room for just that particular meeting.

There, check to enable the waiting room for just that particular meeting.

You can also enable a waiting room for all meetings with your personal meeting ID. Under meetings, go to your personal meeting room.

You can also enable a waiting room for all meetings with your personal meeting ID. Under meetings, go to your personal meeting room.
Advertisement

Click edit this meeting.

Click edit this meeting.

Make sure enable waiting room is checked, then hit save.

Make sure enable waiting room is checked, then hit save.
Advertisement

This is what meeting participants will see while in the waiting room.

This is what meeting participants will see while in the waiting room.

As the host, control the waiting room by selecting manage participants.

As the host, control the waiting room by selecting manage participants.
Advertisement

Under "more," you'll have several option, including putting a person into the waiting room.

Under "more," you'll have several option, including putting a person into the waiting room.

Once the meeting has started, people can be admitted from the waitlist under "manage participants."

Once the meeting has started, people can be admitted from the waitlist under "manage participants."
Advertisement

Or, the entire waiting room can be admitted at once.

Or, the entire waiting room can be admitted at once.

Clicking more on a video participant, they can be sent to the waiting room during the call.

Clicking more on a video participant, they can be sent to the waiting room during the call.
Advertisement