How to ensure your Facebook photos remain safe

Unsplash
Facebook is still one of the most popular social media platforms with over 2.45 billion monthly active users. Social media platforms allow us to connect with our friends and family across the world. But this comes with a few privacy risks.

Posting photos is an easy way to share memories with friends and family. However, there have been several instances where photos posted on social media have been misused.

In this post, we will talk about some of the things you need to do to make sure that your photos on Facebook are safe.

How to keep your photos safe on Facebook

Be careful about whom you add as friends

The very first thing that you need to do is make sure that you are not adding strangers on Facebook. Before accepting a friend request, make sure you know who the person is and if you have any mutual friends, talk to these friends before accepting the request.

Unfriend strangers

To make sure that you only share things with your friends and family, make sure you have not added strangers on Facebook. Go to your profile and click on the ‘Friends’ tab. Now, If you find someone that you do not know, unfriend them by going to their profile.

Protect your profile picture

Facebook has an option called profile picture guard that stops others from downloading your profile picture.

  • Open your Facebook profile.
  • Now, click on your current profile picture.
  • At the bottom of the pic, click on ‘Options’.
  • Now, click on ‘Turn on the profile picture guard’.
Share your pictures only with your friends

Facebook allows you to select who you share information with. You can change this option while posting an update on the platform.

  • Click on the ‘Write something here’ box on the home page.
  • At the bottom right corner, click on the ‘Who should see this’ box.
  • Now, select from ‘Public’, ‘Friends’, ‘Friends except’, ‘Specific friends’ and ‘Only me’.
  • It is recommended that you select the ‘Friends’ option here.
Make previously published photos private

You can also change the privacy settings of the photos that you may have shared earlier.

  • Go to your profile page.
  • Click on ‘Photos’ in the left sidebar.
  • Now, click on ‘Albums’.
  • Select an album and click on ‘Edit album’.
  • At the bottom, click on the privacy button and change the audience to ‘Friends’.
Review your tags

When someone tags you in a photo, all your friends can see the post. You can review these pictures before they are added to your timeline.

  • Go to Facebook’s privacy settings from your homepage.
  • Now, click on ‘Timeline and tagging.
  • Now, you can review who sees the posts that you are tagged in.
  • We recommend you change these settings to ‘Friends’.
See also:

Here’s how to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook

How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp

Here's Why Facebook, Google, And Every Other Major Tech Company Are Updating Their Privacy Policy In Time For 2020, And What It Means For You

{{}}

Add Comment()
Comments ()
X
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.