How to turn off text message previews on your iPhone, to help keep your private conversations private

Advertisement
How to turn off text message previews on your iPhone, to help keep your private conversations private

millennial gen z texting.JPG

Scott Morgan/Reuters

It's easy to turn off the message preview feature on an iPhone.

Advertisement

When a message appears on your iPhone - even when your phone is locked - the message preview can be a welcome feature.

However, a message preview can also be a privacy issue, depending on who's looking over your shoulder, or has eyes on an iPhone laying out in the open.

Complimentary Tech Event
Discover the future of SaaS in India
The 6-part video series will capture the vision of Indian SaaS leaders and highlight the potential for the sector in the decades to come.Watch on Demand
Our Speakers
Girish Mathrubootham
Brian E. Taptich

Fortunately, there's a middle ground: You can be alerted to the presence of a new message, without the contents of the message appearing on your screen.

Here are the four steps you need to disable Message previews through your Notification settings, meaning you'll still get the alert on your iPhone's lock screen - sans preview text.

Advertisement

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone 11 (From $699.99 at Best Buy)

How to turn off message previews on your iPhone

1. Go into your iPhone and open the Settings app.

2. Tap "Notifications." You can use the Search bar at the top to find it as well.

IMG_5110

Emma Witman/Business Insider

Open the Notifications tab in the Settings app.

3. Under "Notification Style," scroll until you see the "Messages" tab. Tap it.

IMG_5112

Emma Witman/Business Insider

The default setting will show your message contents on the lock screen if notifications are enabled.

Advertisement

4. Under "Options" you'll see a setting for "Show Previews." Open the tab and select "Never" or "When Unlocked."

IMG_5111

Emma Witman/Business Insider

Rather than reveal what the message itself says, the "Never" setting will hide the message.

Now, when you receive a message, you'll still see a banner alerting you to the new message on your lock screen, but with no contents of the message included.

IMG_4080.PNG

William Antonelli/Business Insider

You'll still be able to see who the message is from.

But because any kind of alert can at times be an unwelcome intrusion onto your screen, while you're in your settings, you can also disable the notifications entirely.

Advertisement

To do this, after you tap "Messages" in the Notification Style list, simply tap the slider that reads "Allow Notifications."

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Exclusive FREE Slide Deck: Top 3 Biggest Smartphone Trends by Business Insider Intelligence

{{}}