- If users do not agree to the policy, after several weeks they will begin to lose access to their chat lists.
- After a few more weeks, users won't receive calls or notifications, WhatsApp said.
If users do not agree to the new policy, after several weeks they will begin to lose access to their chat lists, WhatsApp said. Users will only be able to call and message someone if they are contacted first and click on a notification.
After a few more weeks, users won't receive calls or notifications, WhatsApp said, although the timing will vary from user to user.
Anyone that previously opted out of sharing their data with Facebook will have that decision honored, WhatsApp told Insider in February.
Users will receive "persistent" reminders on the app to accept the new terms, a company blog post said.
A company spokesperson confirmed to Insider that WhatsApp would not delete the accounts of users who refuse to sign the new policy. It would also not limit functionality immediately on May 15, when the new policy comes into force, they said. Users would lose functionality over the next few weeks, they said.
"We'll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come," the spokesperson said.
Whatsapp said in an FAQ that the "policy update does not affect the privacy of your messages with friends or family in any way."
Users migrated to rival encrypted messaging apps,
- This could be the best time to buy Galaxy Z Fold3 5G in India at ₹1,09,999
- Retail jobs have been slowing down due to WFH and online sales: report
- 85% Indian schools don't have vocational courses as part of their curriculum: WEF
- Govt invites bids for IDBI Bank privatisation; Govt, LIC to sell 60.72%
- Tracxn Technologies IPO: Analyst cautious due to losses and investor exits