All the key times for Prince Philip's funeral at Windsor Castle, from the royal family's arrival to the national minute's silence

All the key times for Prince Philip's funeral at Windsor Castle, from the royal family's arrival to the national minute's silence
HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.Alastair Grant - WPA Pool/Getty Images
  • Prince Philip's funeral is taking place on Saturday at St George's Chapel.
  • The ceremony will start with a national minute's silence at 10 a.m. ET (3 p.m. BST).
  • The service is expected to be around 50 minutes long.

The funeral of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh is taking place on Saturday, April 17, at St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle.

Prince Philip died at the age of 99 on Friday, April 9.

The ceremony, which will only be attended by 30 guests due to the UK's COVID-19 restrictions, will likely be watched by millions of people around the world. Funeral coverage will be broadcast in both the UK and the USA.
Advertisement
Here's a minute-by-minute rundown of the royal ceremony.

The UK will observe a national minute's silence before the ceremony

Members of the royal family and other attendees not taking part in the procession will arrive at St. George's Chapel between 9:20 a.m. ET (2:20 p.m. BST) and 9:27 a.m. ET (2:27 p.m BST), The Telegraph reports.

The funeral procession will begin at 9:45 a.m. ET (2:45 p.m BST) at the castle's quadrangle.
Advertisement

The duke's children, Princess Anne, Prince Charles, Prince Edward, and Prince Andrew, will walk behind the coffin, followed by Prince Harry, Peter Phillips, Prince William, Vice Admiral Tim Lawrence, and the Earl of Snowdon. The Queen will follow in a state Bentley at the rear of the procession.

The coffin will be moved from the castle's quadrangle, down Chapel Hill, into Horseshoe Cloister to St George's Chapel in a purpose-built Land Rover - which Prince Philip helped design - Buckingham Palace confirmed in a press release obtained by Insider. After the coffin is removed from the Land Rover and taken to the West Steps, a national minute's silence will be observed by both the UK and the royal family at 10 a.m. ET (3 p.m. BST).
Advertisement

The ceremony will be approximately 50 minutes long

The service, due to be conducted by the Dean of Windsor, will begin after the minute's silence.

A small choir of four singers will perform music selected by Prince Philip. They will be located at a distance from the congregation to comply with public health guidelines.

The Dean of Windsor will give the commendation as the duke's coffin is lowered into the Royal Vault.
Advertisement

The choir will end the ceremony with the National Anthem. The Queen, members of the royal family, and members of Prince Philip's family will be the first to leave the chapel at approximately 10:50 a.m. ET (3:50 p.m BST), while other attendees remain standing in place.

{{}}