3 scientists share 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics

STOCKHOLM, Oct. 7, 2019 (Xinhua) -- Photo taken on Oct. 7, 2019 shows the announcement of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, Oct. 7, 2019. The prize was awarded jointly to William G. Kaelin Jr, Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza "for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability," said the Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute. (Xinhua/Zheng Huansong/IANS)
Stockholm, The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics was shared by three scientists, the Royal Academy of Sciences in Stockholm announced on Tuesday.

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded with one half to James Peebles "for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology" and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz "for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star", Xinhua news agency reported.

Tuesday's announcement comes after it was revealed on Monday that three Americans scientists, William G. Kaelin and Gregg L. Semanza and Briton Peter J. Ratcliffe, were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine.

Monday's announcement kicked off this year's prestigious awards, which was followed by prizes in Physics on Tuesday and the ones for Chemistry, Literature, Peace and Economics will also be named in the next few days.

This edition will see two prizes in Literature being announced as an exception, as last year's were postponed owing to allegations of sexual abuse within the Swedish Academy.

The awards will be presented on December 10, the anniversary of the death of its founder Alfred Nobel, in a double ceremony at the Konserthus in Stockholm and Oslo City Hall, for the Peace Prize.

All prizes include a cash prize, which this year amounts to 9 million Swedish kronor ($912,000).
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.