1. Home
  2. sports
  3. Cricketers who turned millionaires, thanks to IPL-9

Cricketers who turned millionaires, thanks to IPL-9

Cricketers who turned millionaires, thanks to IPL-9
Everything comes at a price even cricket players. Indian Premier League (IPL) season kicked-off amid glitzy ceremony and eight teams will be contesting with each other to win the coveted trophy.

Preparations for the IPL extravaganza had begun long time back with auction of cricketers from India and across the world (minus Pakistan).

Owners of the eight teams- Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions- retained and even poached players from other teams by bidding a higher amount.

The bidding process threw many surprises as players like Nathu Singh were netted for Rs 3.2 crore. Even M Ashwin was auctioned for Rs 4.5 crore from previous Rs 10 lakh.

Here is a complete list of players who were auctioned for crore of rupees, taking the whole cricket festival a notch higher

Shane Watson- Rs 9.50 crore

Kane Richardson-Rs 2 crore

Stuart Binny-Rs 2 crore

Jaydev Unadkat- Rs 1.60 crore

John Hastings-Rs 1.30 crore

Mohit Sharma-Rs 6.50 crore

Kyle Abbot- Rs 2.10 crore

Pawan Negi-Rs 8.50 crore

Chris Morris-Rs 7 crore

Carlos Brathwaite- Rs 4.20 crore

Sanju Samson- Rs 4.20 crore

Karun Nair- Rs 4 crore

Rishabh Pant- Rs 1.90 crore

Jos Buttler- Rs 3.80 crore

Nathu Singh- Rs 3.20 crore

Tim Southee- Rs 2.50 crore

Krunal Pandya- Rs 2 crore

Kishore Kamath- Rs 1.40 crore

Yuvraj Singh- Rs 7 crore

Ashish Nehra- Rs 5.50 crore

Deepak Hooda- Rs 4.20 crore

Barinder Sran- Rs 1.20 crore

Aditya Tare- Rs 1.20 crore

Mitchell Marsh- Rs 4.80 crore

Murugan Ashwin- Rs 4.50 crore

Ishant Sharma-Rs 3.80 crore

Kevin Pietersen- Rs 3.50 crore

Irfan Pathan- Rs 1 crore

Thisara Perera-Rs 1 crore

Aaron Finch- Rs 1 crore

Praveen Kumar- Rs 3.50 crore

Dwayne Smith- Rs 2.30 crore

Dale Steyn- Rs 2.30 crore

Dinesh Karthik- Rs 2.30 crore

Dhawal Kulkarni- Rs 2 crore

Eklavya Dwivedi- Rs 1 crore

(Images: Indiatimes)


Popular Right Now