Candidate list for by poll on October 21 in UP, Bihar and Rajasthan

Patna: BJP leader Satish Dubey accompanied by Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi files his nomination papers for Rajya Sabha by-elections in Patna on Oct 4, 2019. (Photo: IANS)
Here’s a list of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha constituencies going for by-poll on 21st October 2019

Constituency INC Candidate BJP Candidate
Samastipur - Bihar (Lok Sabha) Dr. Ashok Kumar
Rajya Sabha - Uttar Pradesh Sudhanshu Trivedi
Rajya Sabha - Bihar Satish Dubey
Kishanganj - Bihar (Assembly Bye Election) Sayeeda Banu
Mandawa - Rajasthan (Assembly Bye Election) Rita Chaudhary
Khinwsar – Rajasthan - (Assembly Bye Election) Harendra Mirdha
Balha - Uttar Pradesh (Assembly Bye Election) Mannu Devi

The demise of one of the top leaders of BJP Arun Jaitley (BJP) and the renowned lawyer Ram Jethmalani (RJD) has created a vacuum in the Rajya Sabha. BJP has announced that the party’s spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi and former Lok Sabha MP Satish Dubey will contest for these two Rajya Sabha MP posts from Uttar Pradesh and Bihar respectively.


Samastipur in Bihar will go for by polls due to the demise of Ramchandra Paswan who won from this seat on behalf of LJP in 2019 elections. Congress has nominated Dr. Ashok Kumar to contest from this seat. Earlier during the last elections, he lost to Ramchandra Paswan.

During the upcoming bye polls on October 21, 2019, Sayeeda Banu, Rita Chaudhary, Harendra Mirdha and Mannu Devi will field for Congress party from the assembly constituencies of Kishanganj (Bihar), Mandawa (Rajasthan), Khinwsar (Rajasthan) and Balha (Uttar Pradesh) respectively.