Delhi Election Results 2020: 8 out of 9 women AAP candidates have won the election

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Atishi Marlena with Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia after filing her nomination papers from Kalkaji constituency ahead of Delhi Assembly elections, in New Delhi on Jan 17, 2020. (Photo: IANS)
The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has swept the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 with trends at 05:30 pm suggesting that the party has either won or is leading on 63 out of the 70 seats.

Incumbent Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading from his seat with a huge margin and deputy cheif minister Manish Sisodia is also expedcted to win comfortably after a tough few initial hours of counting.

The Aam Aadmi Party had fielded 9 women candidates in this election and 8 of them have won from their respective contituencies.

Here's a complete list of women candidates who fought the election on AAP's ticket and have won the seat.

Rakhi Bidlan has won the Mangolpuri assembly seat, Bandana Kumari has won from Shalimar Bagh, Tri Nagar seat has been captured by Preeti Tomar, Dhanwati Chandela has won from Rajouri Garden, Raj Kumari Dhillon has won from Hari Nagar seat, Bhavna Gaur has won from Palam, Pramila Tokas has won from RK Puram and Atishi has won from Kalkaji.

Constituency NameCandidate NameParty Name
Mangol PuriRakhi BirlaAAP
Shalimar BaghBandana KumariAAP
Tri NagarPreeti TomarAAP
Rajouri GardenDhanwati ChandelaAAP
Hari NagarRaj kumari DhillonAAP
PalamBhavna GaurAAP
R.K. PuramPramila TokasAAP

Sarita Singh is only women candidate from AAP who has lost the election. She was contesting from Rohtas Nagar assembly seat against Jitender Mahajan of BJP who has won the seat.

Congress had fielded 10 women candidates and BJP had fielded 5 women candidates in this election.