scorecard
  1. Home
  2. tech
  3. how-to
  4. How to close or permanently delete your Etsy account and remove your data from the independent seller platform

How to close or permanently delete your Etsy account and remove your data from the independent seller platform

Jennifer Still   

How to close or permanently delete your Etsy account and remove your data from the independent seller platform
  • You can close or permanently delete your Etsy account at any time via the Account Settings page.
  • If you close your Etsy account, you will become inactive on the site but can reopen with your account settings intact by signing in.
  • When you permanently delete your Etsy account, all account data will be removed and become inaccessible.

Whether you want to start fresh with a new account or you simply no longer want to shop on the platform, Etsy allows users to close or even entirely delete their accounts.

Which option you choose depends on your personal preferences, but only permanently deleting your account will remove all of its associated details and information from Etsy's servers.

Quick tip: If you plan to open a new Etsy account with your current account's email, you'll need to change the email address at least seven days before closing it.

Here's how to close or delete your Etsy account

How to close your Etsy account

1. After signing in to your Etsy account, click the profile icon in the top left.

2. Select Account settings from the dropdown menu.

3. In the menu on the left-hand side of your screen, click Settings if it isn't already selected.

4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page until you find the "Close your account" section.

Quick tip: The "Close your account" section is located beneath the "Change email" section.

5. Click Close account.

6. If you want to reopen your account at any time, sign back in or contact Etsy support.

What happens when you close your Etsy account

Closing your Etsy account is not a permanent action and can be undone. But the platform will take specific steps once you decide to close. Here's what you should know.

  • Inactivity: When you close your Etsy account, it will be deemed inactive until you decide to reopen.
  • Profile removal: Closing your Esty account will remove your profile from the site. That means it won't appear anywhere on the Etsy platform.
  • Non-delivery cases: Etsy will close any of the non-delivery cases you still have open.
  • Account settings: Because closing your Etsy account doesn't permanently delete your data, your account settings will remain, and your username will not be usable by someone else.

How to permanently delete your Etsy account and data

1. At the top of your Account settings page, select the Privacy tab.

2. Scroll down to the Permanently close and delete your Etsy account section.

3. Click Request deletion of your data to permanently close and delete your Etsy account and all of its relevant data.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

READ MORE ARTICLES ON




Advertisement