Apple is changing how read receipts work in the new Messages app

Advertisement

iPhone read receipts

Screenshot

Advertisement

Apple is giving you more flexibility with how you use read receipts.

When iOS 10 is made available to everyone this fall, the new Messages app will let you enable and disable read receipts on a per-conversation basis.

Complimentary Tech Event
Discover the future of SaaS in India
The 6-part video series will capture the vision of Indian SaaS leaders and highlight the potential for the sector in the decades to come.Watch on Demand
Our Speakers
Girish Mathrubootham
Brian E. Taptich

Read receipts, which infamously tell the other person when you've read an incoming text, have to be enabled or disabled for all conversations in the Messages app currently.

Once you update your iPhone or iPad to iOS 10 later this year, you'll be able to enable or disable read receipts by tapping on the top right "Details" button next to the name of who you're messaging. The option to send read receipts will be available under existing options to share your location and enable Do Not Disturb for notifications.

Advertisement

NOW WATCH: An Apple demo froze during the big WWDC keynote and nobody noticed