National public holidays in 2022 in India

National public holidays in 2022 in India
While we are leaving the portals of 2021 and gearing up to invite the New Year 2022, we may also want to plan for our vacations, running some personal errands or organise some family or social events. Here is a list of national public holidays in 2022 for India you can use as a guide to plan several things you may want to do in 2022, making the best use of your holidays.

In India there are two types of holidays, namely, regional holidays and national holidays. National public holidays are those that are applicable throughout the country across all states. Countrywide holidays for national events are applicable on official national celebrations like Independence Day, Republic Day and Gandhi Jayanti. The other national holidays are listed on the dates of the important festivals of major religions practiced in the country like Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Christianity and Islam.

Some religious festivals have their own local variations in terms of dates and fashion from state to state while some festivals are celebrated in some states only. These festivals are covered with regional holidays applicable in the concerned states only.

In India, most banks, schools, colleges, firms, and institutions have their weekly holidays on Sundays. In addition, Saturdays are demarked for holidays based on needs. Banks do not work on the second and fourth Saturdays of all months.

Here is the list of national public holidays in 2022 in India that are applicable across the nation for all states. For the complete list of holidays covering both national and regional holidays, you have to consult the list of holidays appropriate to your state.


List of national public holidays in 2022

DateDayHoliday Description
1 JanuarySaturdayNew Year's Day
13 JanuaryThursdayLohri
14 JanuaryFridayMakar Sankranti
26 JanuaryWednesdayRepublic Day
1 MarchTuesdayMaha Shivratri
18 MarchFridayHoli
2 AprilSaturdayUgadi
10 AprilSundayRam Navami
14 AprilThursdayMahavir Jayanti, Ambedkar Jayanti
15 AprilFridayGood Friday
3 MayTuesdayEid-ul-Fitr
16 MayMondayBuddha Purnima
10 JulySundayBakri Eid
9 AugustTuesdayMuharram
11 AugustThursdayRakshabandhan
15 AugustMondayIndependence Day
19 AugustFridayJanmashtami
31 AugustWednesdayGanesh Chaturthi
8 SeptemberThursdayOnam
2 OctoberSundayGandhi Jayanti
5 OctoberWednesdayDussehra
9 OctoberSundayEid-e-Milad
24 OctoberMondayDiwali
8 NovemberTuesdayGuru Nanak Jayanti
25 DecemberSundayChristmas