Karnataka rebel MLA list 2019: Know the names of all the MLAs who have resigned from Karnataka assembly

Bengaluru: Karnataka Minister D. K. Shivakumar interacts with Congress MLCs during the Karnataka Legislative Council Session at the state assembly, in Bengaluru on July 16, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

The Congress coalition government in Karnataka is facing the risk of losing its majority in the state assembly since as many as 13 Congress MLAs and 3 JD MLAs submit their resignations to the Speaker.

The total strength of the JD(S)-Congress coalition in Karnataka including those who have submitted their resignations is 118 (Congress-78, JD(S)-37, BSP-1 and Independents-2), in addition to the Speaker. On the other hand, the BJP has a strength of 105 MLAs in the State Assembly.

The list of Congress MLAs who were spotted at the Speaker’s office for submitting their resignations are Ramesh Jarkiholi (elected from Gokak), Pratap Gowda Patil (won from Maski), Shivram Hebbar (won from Yellapur), Mahesh Kumathalli (voted from Athani), B C Patil (won from Hirekerur), Byratibasavaraj (elected from K R Puram), S T Soma Shekar (from Yashwanthpur constituency) and Ramalinga Reddy (BTM Layout constituency).

The JD(S) MLAs who have resigned are:
A H Vishwanath (won from Hunsur), who recently quit his position as the party’s state chief, Narayana Gowda (elected from K R Pet), and Gopalaiah (won from Mahalakshmi Layout).

Commenting on the repercussions of the situation, Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar said, “Whether the government will fall or survive would be decided in the Assembly“.

He also added, “11 of them have submitted resignation letters. I told officials to take the letters and issue acknowledgement...on Tuesday I will go to office and take further action in accordance with rules.”

Later, Congress MLA Munirathna who was elected from Rajarajeshwari Nagar also submitted his papers as per the sources of the Assembly Secretariat.
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.