Lok Sabha Election 2019: Polling dates for Tripura

India’s Election Commission announced dates for the country’s 17th Lok Sabha elections on March 10. Polling will be in seven phases starting, April 11. The votes will be counted on May 23 and will decide the fate of major political parties in India.

Tripura will vote for the general elections in two phases. Polling dates are April 11 and April 18. The focus this time is on the tribal-base parties in the state. The Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) is one the most-prominent and oldest tribal-based party in Tripura. Both the BJP and Congress is in talks with the INPT leadership ahead of polling.

Biplab Kumar Deb is the chief minister of Tripura, also touted as BJP’s most-controversial leaders. His remarks, often dubbed as ‘outrageous’ have made headlines, something his party, the BJP has not been proud of. In the past, he has been reprimanded by the senior leadership for a series of brazen statements. He once said that graduates in India should not run after ministers and political parties to get a job rather they should get cows and milk it to earn one million in 10 years.

Tripura Lok Sabha Election Schedule (Phase 1)

Date of polling: April 11, 2019

Constituency - Tripura West

Tripura Lok Sabha Election Schedule (Phase 2)

Constituency - Tripura East

Date of polling: April 11, 2019

Results of the Lok Sabha Election for all phases will be announced on 23 May.
Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.